Kielder Chiller 24! (24hr Mountain Bike Race) 

Wow… Not sure how But I survived the weekend! 
It was a brutal course to have to do over and over, I’d say 50/50 of single track & fire roads & 1000ft of climbing per lap, the conditions were not nice and after 9 hours I was soaked to the skin and about to give up! The course was taking its gritty toll on the bikes, I had no brakes, my gears were not working right and I sat shivering in the dark freezing rain waiting for the guys to try fix my bike wondering what the hell I was doing! At this point my mate John who was also riding and had just snapped his rear mech got us in his warm camper, eating pizza & suggested we should get dry and some kip for a few hrs before heading back out! 
This was a good plan as my cold body wanted me to bail but my head was telling me that quitting wasn’t an option but I just didn’t know how I could carry on! After a few cold broken hrs of sleep my alarm went off at 4.30am but I didn’t get back out on the trail until about 5.30, the rain had stopped and had turned to light snow but the wind at the top of the forest had picked up! 
Although this event was a “race” I was out for the challenge and didn’t think I would ever be in contention for a top 3 spot and at this point I thought I must be running last for the solo’s so I trudged on and told myself it would all be over in a few more laps! John stuck with me for the first few morning laps as it was dark, but I could see him visibly shivering as he was riding at too slower a pace and as dawn broke I sent him on his way . 

At about 8am it was taking just over an hour for me to do a lap so I told myself 2 more and I could stop, Pete & Phil (my awesome pit crew) told me I was in 2nd place but the next rider was only half a lap behind, I told them to stop messing with my head as I was already in a bad enough place but apparently it was true, how? Why? The front runner was way ahead and safely out of reach but could I keep 2nd? It was a close call with 3 of us fighting for 2nd & 3rd, on my 2nd to last lap I was passed by one of the lasses… that must be 2nd place gone as she was flying and would easily get another 1 or maybe 2 laps in! 

I got to my pit and the guys were pushing me to go for another, I didn’t want to I was tired, cold and hungry.. I sulkily picked my bike up and trudged back out! As I got back I was sure I must be heading for 4th place my last lap had taken 1hr 18 and there was only 1hr 19mins left to go, if I didn’t make it back in that time it wouldn’t count, I was starving and needed desperately to refuel so reluctantly called it quits. 

I wearily made my way back to the pit where i was told that I was still up for 2nd place, I couldn’t believe it.. I stood and watched my now only contender for 2nd come in and set off for another lap but something happened on the first hill out of the timing tent, there was a bit of commotion… she had snapped her chain! Game over!  
I was very lucky to have been able to pit at the bottom of the trail near the start/ finish line as my mate had earned a spot by being one of the first to enter… some guys were at the top of the trail in the snow and wind and a good half an hr away (by bike) from the start. 
If it hadn’t have been for John & Wendy, Pete & Phil I don’t know what would have happened! Bloody mindedness would have helped.. but not as much as moral support, team work, a warm camper and the whole reason I was doing this… to #RideForRory and kick cancers butt! ❤ 

http://www.justgiving.com/JustGemma-Towell3

Leave a comment